GRADUATE STUDENTS

The Hydrologic Sciences Graduate Group at the University of California, Davis is a world-renowned graduate program, and home to a talented cohort of over 30 graduate students pursuing Masters and PhD degrees. 

Al-Dughaishi, Usama

Al Dughaishi, Usama

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Isaya Kisekka


Research Area: Water reuse in agriculture


Email: dughaishi@ucdavis.edu

Atkins Karen.jpg

Atkins, Karen

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Geoffrey Schladow

Research Area: Climate change impacts on Lake Tahoe water quality as it relates to periphyton processes.

Email: ksatkins@ucdavis.edu

Helaine Berris_edited.png

Berris, Helaine

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Sam Sandoval

Research Area: Sustainable agricultural water management in northern Mexico; environmental flows on the Eel River.

Email: hberris@ucdavis.edu

Calderwood, Andrew_edited.jpg

Calderwood, Andrew

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Laura Foglia, Graham Fogg

Research Area: Surface water - Groundwater interaction on the Cosumnes River

Email : ajcalderwood@ucdavis.edu

HSGG logo.png

Calderwood, Andrew

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Minghua Zhang

Research Area: TBD

Email: chdemars@ucdavis.edu

Logan Ebert

Ebert, Logan

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Mallika Nocco

Research Area: TBD

Email: laebert@ucdavis.edu

Laura Elisa Garza Diaz.png

Garza-Diaz, Laura Elisa

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Samuel Sandoval Solis


Research Area: Integrated Water Resources Management


Email: legarza@ucdavis.edu

AmandaGateley.jpg

Gately, Amanda

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Laura Foglia


Research Area: TBD


Email: amgateley@ucdavis.edu

Gervasi, Arielle.jpg

Gervasi, Arielle

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Greg Pasternack

Research Area: Topographic change detection, sediment transport, and fluvial geomorphology

Email: agervasi@ucdavis.edu

HSGG logo.png

Gomez Quiroga, Grace

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Sam Sandoval

Research Area: TBD

UCD Email Address: ggomezquiroga@ucdavis.edu

Hewett Kate.jpg

Hewett, Kate

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: John Largier


Research Area: Coastal oceanography, estuarine dynamics


Email: kmhewett@ucdavis.edu

Samira.JPG

Ismaili, Samira

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Samuel Sandoval Solis


Research Area: Water resources management


Email: sismaili@ucdavis.edu

Kennard, Rachel.jpg

Kennard, Rachel

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Geoffrey Schladow

Research Area: Water Policy and Management

UCD Email Address: rakennard@ucdavis.edu

K Michael.jpg

Koohafkan, Michael

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Nicholas Pinter


Research Area: Geomorphology of large braided sandbed rivers


Email: koohafkan@ucdavis.edu

Kouba_Claire_1.jpg

Kouba, Claire

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Thomas Harter 

Research Area: Groundwater modeling and water resources management under the California Sustainable Groundwater Management Act

Email: cmkouba@ucdavis.edu

Kozar, Daniel

Kozar, Daniel

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: John Largier, Xiaoli Dong

Research Area: TBD

Email : djkozar@ucdavis.edu

Li Tingyu.jpg

Li, Tingyu “Nina”

Degree program: PhD


Major Professor: Gregory Pasternack


Research Area: Ecohydraulics


Email: styli@ucdavis.edu

Mautner Marina.jpg

Mautner, Marina

Degree program: PhD


Major Professor: Jon Herman and Laura Foglia


Research Area: Water resource optimization & groundwater modeling


Email: mmautner@ucdavis.edu

HSGG logo.png

McCarten, Niall

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Randy Dahlgren

Research Area: TBD

Email : nfmccarten@ucdavis.edu

Kimberly Miles.jpg

Miles, Kimberly

Degree program: PhD

 

Major Professor: Graham Fogg and Thomas Harter


Research Area: Groundwater protection and aquifer/well flow dynamics.


Email: kimmiles@ucdavis.edu

Nusrat Molla.jpg

Molla, Nusrat

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Jon Herman 

Research Area: Water systems optimization, water resources and equity in disadvantaged communities

Email: njmolla@ucdavis.edu

Murphy Nicholas.jpg

Murphy, Nicholas

Degree program: MS


Major Professor: Helen Dahlke


Research Area: Contaminant Transport & Agricultural Groundwater Banking


Email: npmurphy@ucdavis.edu

HSGG logo.png

Nogueira, Xavier

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Sam Sandoval, Greg Pasternack

Research Area: TBD

Email : xrnogueira@ucdavis.edu

Owalia Rashid.jpg

Owlia, Rashid Reza

Degree program: PhD


Major Professor: Graham Fogg


Research Area: Groundwater Modeling and Simulation 


Email: rowlia@ucdavis.edu

Patterson_Noelle_edited.jpg

Patterson, Noelle

Degree program: MS


Major Professor: Samuel Sandoval Solis


Research Area: Hydrologic alteration and surface water management


Email: nkpatterson@ucdavis.edu
 

Website: https://github.com/NoellePatterson

pauloo_rich.jpg

Pauloo, Rich

Degree program: PhD


Major Professor: Graham Fogg


Research Areas:

  • regional groundwater quality

  • non-Fickian contaminant transport in porous media

  • regional scale well failure modeling

  • software development for groundwater monitoring


Email: rpauloo@ucdavis.edu

Website: richpauloo.com

Twitter: @RichPauloo

S. Phillips Image.jpg

Phillips, Sierra

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Greg Pasternack

Research Area: Pacific salmonid rearing habitat restoration theory, design, and analysis.

Email : sjphillips@ucdavis.edu

MashrekurRahman.jpg

Rahman, Mashrekur

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Grey Nearing

Research Area: Artificial Intelligence, Science Communication and Information Theory in Hydrologic Science

UCD email address: mashman@ucdavis.edul

Reimer%20Anna_edited.jpg

Reimer, Anna Marie

Degree program: MS

 

Major Professor: Graham Fogg


Research Area: Real-time accounting of change in groundwater storage.


Email: amreimer@ucdavis.edu

Bill Rice.jpg

Rice, Bill

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor:  Thomas Harter and Laura Foglia

Research Area: TBD

Email: wcrice@ucdavis.edu

DavidRosas.jpg

Rosas, David

Degree program: MS

Major Professor: Samuel Sandoval Solis 

 

Research Area: Water Policy and Water Resource Management

 

Email address: dmrosas@ucdavis.edu

Saiz, Ramon

Saiz, Ramon

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Sam Sandoval

Research Area: TBD

Email : rsaiz@ucdavis.edu

Simms.png

Simms, Bradley

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Thomas Harter, Laura Foglia

Research Area: Physical Hydrology

Email : bmsimms@ucdavis.edu

SpeiserHSGGBio.jpg

Speiser, William

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: John Largier

Research Area: Coastal Oceanography

Email : whspeiser@ucdavis.edu

Sperisen Carli_edited.png

Sperisen, Carli

Degree program: MS

 

Major Professor: Peter Hernes


Research Area: Hydrologic Chemistry


Email: cnsperisen213@ucdavis.edu

HSGG logo.png

Wiener, Jason

Degree Program: PhD

Major Professor: Greg Pasternack

Research Area: TBD

 Email : jswiener@ucdavis.edu

Sam Winter.jpg

Winter, Sam

Degree Program: MS

Major Professor: Dr. John Largier

Research Area: TBD

UCD Email: swinter@ucdavis.edu

Wong Andy.jpg

Wong, Andy

Degree program: PhD


Major Professor: Yufang Jin


Research Area: Remote Sensing of Evapotranspiration


Email: ajywong@ucdavis.edu